Ranchi Rays win Hockey India League 2015

The third of 2015 Hockey India League finally ended. Played for one month between six teams, the current season gave many nail biting matches. There were two debutants in this season, Ranchi Rays and Dabang Mumbai. Hockey India League announced the prize money for 2015 edition as Rs. 2.5 crore. Debutant Ranchi Rays won the 2015 season with Rs. 2.5 crore and a trophy. They defeated Punjab warriors in the final 3-2 in a penalty shootout. The final was played at Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium.

Though the Rays are a new team, the squad is more or less the same as that of the now non-existent Ranchi Rhinos which won the inaugural HIL in 2013. Ranchi Rays rode on goalkeeper Lovell Taylor brilliant show under the bar to earn a hard-fought 3-2 win over Jaypee Punjab Warriors in the shoot-out after the two teams ended the regulation time locked at 2-2. Playing without Captain Jamie Dwyer, Jaypee Punjab Warriors gave a tough fight to Ranchi Rays before the latter came out winners for the Hero Hockey India League 2015.


The first half of the finale match witnessed the defence of both the teams winning over the attack of the opponents as each was determined to avert any danger and not allow the other to have the better of them. Second half scored read was 0-0. The third quarter ended up 1-1. In the fourth round Punjab Warrior took lead by one goal but in the next minute Ranchi Rays made it 2-2. With the score tied, then result was dependent on Penalty shoot-out.

In shoot-out Punjab Warriors failed to get past an agile Lovell Tyler in the very first attempt when Simon Orchard failed to convert. While Christopher Ciriello and Dharmvir Singh scored easily in the next two attempts. SV Sunil and Robert consecutive misses allowed Ranchi Rays to win and lift. With the Ranchi Rays take home Rs. 2.50 crore, while Jaypee Punjab Warriors will pocket Rs. 1.25 crore for finishing in second position.

Delhi Waveriders won the third place prize beating UP Wizards 1-2. Tyler Lovell won the Man of the Match Award and Barry Middleton won the Hero Goal of the Match Award. Ashley Jackson named as the Hero most valuable player of the Tournament and won Rs. 25 Lakhs. Harmanpreet Singh won the Ponty Chadha Upcoming player of the tournament and won Rs. 20 Lakh. PR Sreejesh won the Dhruv Batra Motivator of the tournament and won Rs. 20 Lakh. Jaypee Punjab Warriors won Airtel maximum goal of the Tournament and won Rs. 10 Lakh. Uttar Pradesh Wizards won the Star Sports Fair play award trophy. Total prize pool was of worth Rs. 5.25 crores.



Comments are closed.

Copyright © 2012 kkhare, All Rights Reserved Sitemap |Disclaimer

Designed by Web Directory. Thanks to Free Wordpress Themes