Nevada has two main types of speeding laws, namely, basic speeding laws and absolute limits. This article will look upon the differences as well as the consequences of a speeding violation.
Basic Speeding Law
This law states one has to drive at a safe speed so that the driver does not endanger the life, property of any person or result in injury of other people and their property. The driver has to follow traffic rules keeping in mind the change in the weather, the width of the highway, surface, or the amount of daylight. In other words, the safe speed depends on the circumstances. 55mph might be safe on a bright day but at night it may become dangerous.
These are the speed limits posted on the side of a highway, for example, if the posted limit is 50mph and you go beyond that, you’ve violated the law. But in any case, the driver is not permitted to drive faster than 80mph. People who speed over the limit may face even serious charges of reckless driving.
Speeding is an offense in Nevada. A violation can amount to a maximum of $1000 fine or six months jail time. Speeding tickets typically do not lead to jail time and the fines can not exceed $20 for each mph over the limit. However, speeding can lead to a reckless driving charge, or the death of a person could lead to a vehicular manslaughter charge or a conviction.
Speeding in a work zone, school area, or pedestrian safe zone
Speeding fine gets doubled if the incident takes place in a work, school, or pedestrian safety zone. Therefore, a typical speeding fine of $250 will amount to $500 under these zones. These zones are demarcated by three main signs. (1) A sign indicating increased penalties for violations of traffic rules. (2) A sign indicating, start of the zone. (3) A sign indicating the end of this zone.
These are the demerit points decided by the Nevada DMV. These will be reflected on the driver’s license depending on the speeding violations committed by him.
|Speeding Offense||Demerit Points|
|1-10 miles/hour over the limit||1 point|
|11-20 miles/ hour over the limit||2 points|
|21-30 miles/ hour over the limit||3 points|
|31-40 miles/ hour over the limit||4 points|
|41 or more miles/ hour over the limit||5 points|
|Reckless Driving||8 points|
These demerit points stay on the driver’s license for a year. If the demerit points exceed 12 or more then DMV can suspend the license for no less than six months. Driver must not hit the road if his license is suspended. This is a misdemeanor in Nevada and can amount to $1000 in fines or six months jail time.
Insurance companies always hike up the rates whenever the insured pick up a traffic ticket. It does not happen right away but will happen eventually. The more traffic tickets a person picks up more is the more premiums charges by these companies.
Pay the fine or fight the ticket?
It is recommended that defendants try to reduce their ticket to a non-moving violation or be dismissed altogether. A lawman can help in these cases. If the successful, criminal record of the driver remains clear, no demerit points are added to their license and the car premiums will also not increase.
A speeding ticket can go to a trial, but can only request a bench trial, not a jury trial. A bench trial is the same as a jury trial, except for the jury. Here judge delivers the verdict depending on the case presented by the defense and the prosecution. Mostly in Nevada, both the parties come to a resolution to the defendant’s benefit.
Fighting the ticket
The defense strategies best suited for fighting a speeding ticket depend on the facts about the case. Some common defenses include:
- A mistake made by the police officer.
- Due to an emergency faced by you.
- False accusation on the driver.
Paying the fine
Drivers faced with a speeding citation in Nevada must appear before the court. Traffic citations include the location of the court, address, and phone number of that court.
Paying citation is easy, just visit the court’s website and pay directly online.
If you want to pay the citation in person or by phone, you need to contact the court directly.
To find your court click the link below:
If you miss the court date, you will be given a 30 day grace period. If still not appeared to the court with a reason for absence, a bench warrant is issued by the court.
If a person is issued a bench warrant, he may be arrested and held in jail without the bail option. In this case, a person who is issued a bench warrant should hire an attorney to try to recall the warrant.
The same number of demerit points will be added by DMV to the person’s commercial driver’s license(CDL). The DMV will add one point to a person’s own driver’s license and one point to their CDL if caught over speeding 10mph over the limit.
CDL- holders have to notify their employer within 30 days of receiving a speeding ticket.
The person’s home state DMV will treat the defendant as he was ticketed for speeding in his home state. Demerit’s points differ from state to state, hence the defendant should hire an attorney in his home state to discuss the demerit points consequences.
No, you will not get deported in Nevada for speeding. But a non-citizen should always seek out an attorney experienced in immigration law as well as criminal defense. This is to safeguard the immigrants’ resident status.