Driving on unfamiliar roads can stress you out, especially driving in another state. Being unfamiliar with speeding laws can present some challenges. You might have no idea about the speeding laws hence find yourself being pulled over. Whatever the reason, if you face a speeding fine in Iowa, this article might help you.
Different Types of Speeding Laws
Speeding law varies from state to state. Many states have several speed limit types. In general, speed laws can broadly fall into one of these three categories:
Absolute/Maximum Speed Limits Laws
If you drive faster than posted limit and get caught by police for speeding. That’s an example of absolute speed limit law. If the posted limit is 50 miles per hour and you cross that limit, you’ve violated the law. Iowa’s absolute speed limits, unless posted otherwise are:
- 20 mph in business areas
- 25 mph in residential areas and school zones
- 45 mph in suburban areas
- 65 mph on fully controlled-access, multilane highways
- 70 mph on interstate highways, and
- 55 mph on other roadways.
Basic Speed Limit Laws
The only issue with basic speed laws is generally no presumptions are involved. If you were driving at a safe speed under the conditions and having regard for actual or potential hazards then existing, you might not get a ticket for speeding. Basic speeding laws also specify that drivers must reduce their speed when approaching crossings, curves, a hillcrest, or when road and weather conditions are not favorable.
Several factors are considered by a judge or a jury deciding a case. These include:
- The weather, bad or good.
- The amount of traffic, heavy or not.
- Whether the area had a lot of pedestrians.
- Whether you were on a narrow road.
- Whether you were near an intersection or a crossing.
Chances of convincing a judge that you were under safe speed limits are increased when road and weather conditions were good and you were not going that fast. For instance, on a bright sunny day, 55 miles per hour might be safe. But if it’s dark and the road condition is bad, 55 mph can be dangerous and a violation of the basic speeding law.
Prima facie/ Presumed Speed Limit laws
Prima facie speed limits are not as simple as absolute speeding laws. Even when you cross a prima facie limit, it doesn’t mean you broke the law. Exceeding a set prima facie limit creates only a “presumption” that you were speeding. If you prove in court that the speed was safe, the jury or judge is supposed to find you not guilty.
Got a Speeding Ticket in Iowa?
If you are booked with a speeding ticket, you have two options. Either fight the ticket, beat the charges, and keep the record clean or accept the ticket, pay the fine, enjoy the increase in your insurance rate.
Speeding Penalties in Lowa
Points to be added to your driving records.
|Violation: Speed Over the Limit||Base Fine|
|1 – 5 mph over||$20|
|6 – 10 mph over||$40|
|11 – 15 mph over||$80|
|16 – 20 mph over||$90|
|20 mph and above||$100 plus an additional $5 for each mile|
- If guilty of speeding 25 mph or more over the limit, your license can be taken away immediately.
- Any traffic violations received out of the state still go on your Iowa driving record.
Note : Total fine will be = Base Fine + Court Fee ($60) + 35% surcharge
Driver’s License Points System
The points system in Iowa is designed to keep hazardous drivers off the road. The state doesn’t even assign points if speeding 15 mph or less over the limit. But, your license can still be suspended if you receive 3 moving violations within 12 months time period. It can be suspended immediately if you’re caught driving 25 mph or more over the specified speed limit.
How to pay Speeding Fine in Iowa?
You can pay fines, surcharges, and fees with any of the major credit cards at Iowa Courts. Click the Pay Fines Online button on the given page. You need to know:
- Type of the case.
- The county in which citation or charge was issued.
- The case number.
- The name of the person charged .
You can also pay by calling 515-348-4788 from 8:00 am – 4:30 pm, Monday -Friday.
DMV Offices in Iowa
Also Read : Iowa Speeding Laws and Penalties
Frequently Asked Questions
It will for 6 Years.
Unfortunately, in Iowa there is no such thing as Court Supervision
A ticket will surely affect your insurance, though not all companies may have the same policies you will have to call your insurance company and ask how will this ticket affect your premium or policy.
Fines and fees are due to the court clerk 30 days after the date is assessed by a court order.
When you pay online it already is a plea of guilty. If the box on the ticket marked “court appearance required” is checked, only then do you have to appear in the court.